Southern Tier library patrons have access to a variety of databases and digital resources. Use the tabs at the left to navigate between the available databases. Information on how to access each database is include within the tabs.
Check out the Databases tab to find resources like legal forms, full-text-searchable access to the New York Times, homework help for all ages, and more!
The Job & Career Help tab includes tools like resume templates, live job coaching, interview preparation help, college scholarship search, and other career prep resources!
Visit the MedlinePlus tab for assistance with researching medical questions, and check out the Virtual Reference Desk tab to email a librarian with your question and receive a response within 24 hours!
Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELny connects New Yorkers to 21st century information. Resources in the portal are available to all New Yorkers without a password as long as one is in New York State, via a NY driver or non-driver ID if not currently in New York State, and/or via a Library Card. Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and more! For help using the NovelNY databases, check out the video tutorials.
Additional databases available through the South Central Regional Library Council:
OCLC FirstSearch Base Package
Log in to FirstSearch here with SCRLC's URL referral. Please use this login information - Login: 100196568 Password: putt5thaw
The FirstSearch interface provides precise, simultaneous searching of the following:
EBSCO Literary Reference Center
Log in to EBSCO Literary Reference Center here with SCRLC's URL referral. Login: stls20 Password: @library1
Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It includes reference works, books, literary journals, and original content from EBSCO Publishing, featuring an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries & work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books & monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines & journals, book reviews, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, and author interviews.
JobNow provides users with a host of services to help in every step of the job search process including job searching, resume template, professional resume review, and live interview coaching. Access JobNow with your library card barcode number.
Prepare for standardized tests with Peterson’s Test Prep. This valuable resource includes full-length practice tests for GED, SAT, ACT, AP, PSAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, TOEFL, U.S. citizenship, and more. It offers information on undergraduate and graduate programs and tuition and scholarship assistance, as well as a resume builder and interviewing advice. Whether you’re a student planning for college or a professional embarking on a new career path, Peterson’s Test Prep can help you along the way. Access Peterson's Test Prep with your library card barcode number.
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Access MedlinePlus.
Need help finding answers? Check out the Virtual Reference Desk.
Libby app, by OverDrive
Check out OverDrive’s user-friendly app, Libby: https://libbyapp.com/library/stls
Learn more about getting started with Libby here: https://help.overdrive.com/en-us/1307.html
Borrow ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines to read on your phone or tablet using the Libby app by OverDrive. You can even send and read your borrowed ebooks to your Kindle eReader! It’s free and easy to get started for new users and a streamlined experience for current OverDrive app users. Learn more at overdrive.com/apps/libby/.
The Finger Lakes Library System, the OWWL Library System, and the Southern Tier Library System have teamed up to share OverDrive collections! You can get access to titles in all three collections, with a few limitations. All you need is your STLS library card - no additional library card is needed!
Learn how to add each library system collection to your account in the Libby app.
Digital Library Card
Need a library card? Reside in the STLS service area? Sign up for a digital card from home! It’s fast & easy – just complete the form & start browsing over 25,000 titles in our digital collections.
Learn more about registering for a digital library card, here.