Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Databases

Your library card gives you access to a wealth of information, both in the library and online! Check out the databases below for assistance with job applications, research, homework, test prep, and reliable fact finding!

Home

Databases

Databases in this guide are accessible for free with your library card. 
Access to databases marked with an asterisk (*) is provided through NY State Library regional funding from the South Central Regional Library Council.

NOVELNY logo

 Access NovelNY here: https://novelnewyork.org/

Gale databases are provided by the New York State Library. NovelNY connects New Yorkers to 21st century information.

For help using the NovelNY databases, check out the video tutorials here: https://support.gale.com/training/videos/

Job Help Databases

JobNow

JobNow database button 

JobNow provides users with a host of services to help in every step of the job search process including job searching, resume template, professional resume review, and live interview coaching.

Access JobNow with your library card barcode number and PIN here.

Peterson's Test Prep

Peterson's Test Prep Database

Prepare for standardized tests with Peterson’s Test Prep. This valuable resource includes full-length practice tests for GED, SAT, ACT, AP, PSAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, TOEFL, U.S. citizenship, and more. It offers information on undergraduate and graduate programs and tuition and scholarship assistance, as well as a resume builder and interviewing advice. Whether you’re a student planning for college or a professional embarking on a new career path, Peterson’s Test Prep can help you along the way.

Access Peterson's Test Prep with your library card barcode number here.

NovelNY Research & Reference Databases

NovelNY Research and Reference Databases

NovelNY

NOVELNY database logo

Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELny connects New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELny is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). Resources in the portal are available to all New Yorkers without a password as long as one is in New York State, via a NY driver or non-driver ID if not currently in New York State and/or via a Library Card. Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and more!

SCRLC Research & Reference Databases

SCRLC Research & Reference Databases

OCLC FirstSearch Base Package

Log in to FirstSearch here with SCRLC's URL referral. Please use this login information - Login: 100196568 Password: putt5thaw

The FirstSearch interface provides precise, simultaneous searching of the following: 

  • ArticleFirst: OCLC index of articles from the contents pages of journals
  • ClasePeriodica: Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities
  • Ebooks: OCLC catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide
  • ECO: An OCLC collection of scholarly journals (Browse Journal Titles)
  • ERIC: Journal articles and reports in education
  • GPO: U.S. government publications
  • MEDLINE: All areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing
  • OAIster: Union catalog of digital resources
  • OpenAccessContent: Open access content in libraries worldwide
  • PapersFirst: OCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide
  • Proceedings: An OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings
  • WorldCat: OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide
  • WorldCatDissertations:  A database of all dissertations and theses available in WorldCat

 

EBSCO Consumer Health Complete

Log in to EBSCO Consumer Health Complete here with SCRLC's URL referral. Login: stls20 Password: @library1

Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Consumer Health Complete also offers a unique search interface designed to call attention to the full text content available from many important source-types, and to provide an intuitive means for searching this specific information. Consumer Health Complete is available in English, Chinese, Vietnamese, and Spanish.

 

EBSCO Literary Reference Center

Log in to EBSCO Literary Reference Center here with SCRLC's URL referral. Login: stls20 Password: @library1

This full-text database provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It includes reference works, books, literary journals, and original content from EBSCO Publishing, featuring an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries & work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books & monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines & journals, book reviews, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, and author interviews.

 

EBSCO Teacher Reference Center, ebooks, and GreenFILE

Our subscription to other EBSCO databases affords free access to several other EBSCO databases, including Teacher Reference Center, GreenFILE, and several ebook collections. Accessible here: EBSCOhost Login Login: stls20 Password: @library1

 

Also Available through SCRLC:

AskUs24/7 Virtual Reference www.askus247.org

logo of Ask Us 24/7

Ebooks, Audiobooks & Magazines

OverDrive: Ebooks, Audiobooks & Magazines

OverDrive is our platform for ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and videos. Access our OverDrive collection here: https://stls.overdrive.com/

Libby, by OverDrive

libby app logo maroon circle with teal text and book shape

Check out OverDrive’s user-friendly app, Libby! Learn more about getting start with Libby here: https://help.overdrive.com/en-us/1307.html
Borrow ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines to read on your phone or tablet using the Libby app by OverDrive. You can even send and read your borrowed ebooks to your Kindle ereader (U.S. only)! It’s free and easy to get started for new users and a streamlined experience for current OverDrive app users. Learn more at overdrive.com/apps/libby/.

If you currently use the legacy OverDrive app and need assistance, visit https://help.overdrive.com.

 

libby how to instructions

Use Libby with Kindle Fire

Virtual Reference Desk

Virtual Reference Desk

CCLD edesk virtual reference help. Got questions? Get answers. ccld.lib.ny.us/edesk

Need help finding answers? Check out the Virtual Reference Desk: https://ccld.lib.ny.us/edesk/

Digital Library Card

Digital Library Card

Digital Library Card

Image of a library card with STLS logo and text "digital library card"

Learn more about registering for a digital library card, here.